Posted in Health, Stress Relief

Stress Relief: Soothing music that touches the heart

As a cardiac patient, keeping stress levels low is probably just as important to heart health as exercising or eating a healthy diet.  Oh how I wish that life was completely stress free, but as we all know, every day we face introduces us to countless triggers; whether its wondering how to pay your bills each month to dealing with the driver who just cut you off in traffic; the list is essentially endless and each one of us handles these situations in different ways.  The key is that we have to find a way to deal with stress so that it doesn’t devour us like the plague; find those things that bring our stress levels down and help us to manage it on a daily basis.

So…I would like to share some of the ways that I keep my stress levels in check, starting with the music that I listen to…song’s that will help calm the nerves, soothes the soul and touches the heart.  Don’t get me wrong, I enjoy all kinds of music.  But on those really stressful days when I need to calm down and relax, these are the musicians that I enjoy listening to….Enjoy!!

Enya, Wild Child

Enya has become one of my top 3 artists if not my favorite of all.  I would love to see her perform this song with an entire orchestra live in concert,  along with many of her other songs.  It’s a mixture of her Irish/Celt roots, a little folk and a bit of synthesized musical background all mixed together into one.  It’s just the type of music you can sit back and relax to, letting all your worries drift away.

Karl Jenkins, Adiemus

Karl Jenkins is a wonderful composer!  I have actually never figured out the words to this song or the meaning behind them, but there is just something about this song that gives me goose bumps when I listen to it.  It’s classical meets ethnic and it just sounds amazing when you crank the surround sound system up and allow the music to surround you.

Jeff Buckley’s rendition of Hallelujah

I don’t know what it is about his voice, but I just find this version of the song to be my all time favorite!  On days when you just need to let out those tears (and we all have those days once in a while) this is the song that I’ll listen to.

Music washes away from the soul the dust of everyday life.” 

Berthold Auerbach

2 thoughts on “Stress Relief: Soothing music that touches the heart

  1. This was great! Enya is one of my favorites too! I play it when I am stressed and when I was pregnant with both of my kids I would play it for them. Halleluja is one of my mom”s favorites and I love it too! I hadn’t heard the other song until today. All of them were great choices!Conititve therapy books have also been an abolute life saver for me. For depression and anxiety there is no better way to get better than to fix your thoughts! I personally love”Overcomming Anxiety for Dummies”. Thanks for your great blog! I totally enjoy it and so does Lily. She told me to tell Aunt Ginny that she is awsome! xoxo

Leave a Reply

