Posted in Health

WHAT??? You want to stick a wire in my heart?

I wear my ICD scar proudly

“A really strong woman accepts the war she went through and is ennobled by her scars.
Carly Simon

When people first hear that I have a defibrillator implanted in my chest, it often leads to many questions.  How does it work? Can you feel it?  Does it hurt? Has it gone off?  The one thought that tends to make some people squeamish is the image of a wire being threaded down inside my heart.  They have this crude image of this massive wire, one similar to those seen in a hardware store, being shoved through my veins down into the hearts chamber.  Thank God that isn’t the case!! Through the wonderful advances in medical technology, things have the ability to do more in a smaller, more compact design.
How does a defibrillator work and what does it do for me? An Implantable Cardioverter-defibrillator (AKA defibrillator for short) is a small, mechanical device that will correct a dangerous heart rhythm essentially by providing a shock through a wire that has been threaded down inside the heart.  Have you ever seen the paddles paramedics or doctors use on a patients chest when they claim the patients heart has stopped beating or they have gone into cardiac arrest?  Essentially, a defibrillator is the same idea, only it provides the shock from the inside of the heart.  It also has the ability to act similar to a pacemaker allowing it to provide tiny electrical impulses to correct a rhythm problem.  How does this device know this?  Although I am not entirely sure, in some way, the device itself has the ability to sense when your heart goes into these dangerous rhythms and then is able to correct them.  Because my heart would go into “funny” rhythms, the defibrillator was put in place to provide that shock or electrical impulses  in the event that it goes into those dangerous rhythms.
ICD (AKA Defibrillator) implant
In my case, the defibrillator was implanted just below my left collarbone and the wire lead was threaded through a vein, down into my heart.
Can you feel it?  The device itself, in all honestly, I hardly even notice that it’s there.  At first, like anything foreign, I did have some anxiety having this object implanted in my chest that naturally didn’t belong.  I would wake up in the middle of the night,  wanting to rip it right out of my chest, but I knew I couldn’t.  But over time, that anxiety finally subsided.  For the most part, the only thing you see is the scar left by the incision made to implant the device.  Without the scar, you probably can’t really tell that the device itself is there at all.  But if you rub the skin gently where the device is, you can feel this hard, rounded object sitting just under the skin (sounds a little creepy, I know, but you get used to it).
Does it hurt?  The device itself doesn’t hurt at all.  The shock that it will provide to my heart….thankfully I haven’t had the pleasure of experiencing a full blown Defibrillator shock.  I watched as my mother experienced them with her defibrillator and the only way she could explain it, it was like getting kicked hard in the chest.  In the event the device fires as a pacemaker, you don’t really feel it.
How is life differently having a device implanted?  Device checkups and doctor visits are obviously a part of my routine.  But overall, life with a defibrillator implant can essentially resume back to normal with the exception of a few things that I have to avoid (some sports and hanging around anything magnetic is off my list of things to do).  Like anything new in life….you just learn to adjust and get used to it over time.  Some patients hide their scar and hide the fact that they have a device while others, like myself, wear my scar proudly and am happy that technology has been developed to help patients in my situation.  My scar and my devices are a part of who I am…..A woman whose life that has been touched by heart disease and is working to educate others to take care of themselves!
Image borrowed from http://www.bmj.com

Just 20 years ago, a defibrillator was the size of a pack of cigarettes…imagine having that box in your chest!


5 thoughts on “WHAT??? You want to stick a wire in my heart?

  1. Good description Ginny. That larger box type was what your mother had implanted when she first had one. Thank goodness for technology improvements!

    1. I sure hope so. It is always so much easier to go through things when you have other people who have gone through similar situations….it makes going through it so much easier and ultimately my goals is to help educate or inspire others:) Thanks for stopping by and checking out my blog!

  2. Hello,

    Thank you for sharing. I had a cardiac arrest in August and had an ICD fitted 2 weeks later. I am still dealing with the trauma, so it’s nice to hear that life seems to return to normal.

    Rachel

    1. Without a doubt, life will be different being a cardiac patient…things won’t be “just like they used to be” because, like me, your lifes circumstances have changed. I still see plenty of doctors, take plenty of medication, and still have moments when I want my device out (but for the most part, that feeling subsides over time to the point that you forget you even have it)….it certainly isn’t what I was doing before running into health problems, but rather than looking at all of that as a negative aspect of my “new life”, I just accept the fact that these things will forever be a part of my life. Skies the limit and you still have the ability to dream and set goals for yourself that will be achieved. Wear your scar proudly for it is a part of you. Feel free to stop by any time and drop a line with any questions, concerns, or just to chat.

      Take care of yourself!! Talk to you soon!

Leave a Reply

