Posted in Family, Life

To weather a storm, you need strong supports

We have all faced moments when the storms of life want to knock us off our feet.  It is moments like these that we must find comfort and stability with family and friends, looking to them to help create those strong supports one needs to help weather life’s crazy storms.  We could try to stand and weather it on our own, but chances are we would wobble and fall.  So, before I can dive head first into sharing my experiences over the past few years, dealing with the deaths in the family and then to deal with my own heart problems,  I have to give gratitude to those who helped me along the way….if it wasn’t for the people in my life, I couldn’t have faced the challenges I did and succeed!

"Hope", Watercolor Painting (C) Virginia M. Dillman

To my family…

I owe a debt of gratitude for the life lessons I have learned.  Without them, I wouldn’t have known how to remain strong, to keep going and to never give up.  Approach life with a smile and accept the fate that life has given to me.  Accept things for what they are and understand that there is always someone out there that probably has it worse than I do.  What doesn’t kill you, will make you stronger.

To my son…

Thank you for giving me a reason to live, to give me someone to look forward to seeing each day and someone to care, influence and encourage to become an incredible individual who will show compassion to others as much as they have showed compassion to us.

To my friends…

You are just like family to me.  You were there when I needed a shoulder to cry on, someone I could text in the middle of the night, someone I could talk to and make my worries go away.  Your hugs, your cards, your kind words and prayers, and afternoon coffee runs – all of your gestures have never been forgotten.  I truly hope that I can be there as much for all of you as you have been there for me.

“I’d like to be the sort of friend that you have been to me. I’d like to be the help that you’ve been always glad to be; I’d like to mean as much to you each minute of the day, as you have meant, old friend of mine, to me along the way.”
– Edgar A. Guest

Leave a Reply

